Tags

, , , , , ,

  
It’s amazing to me what I’ve learned about myself through this journey to 2000. When you go through your 20s you’re at such an egocentric, selfish time in life, yet you have no idea you are like that ;-), but somehow as you grow and mature you start leading a life you never thought you would or even could. I’m still amazed I’m even running let alone trying to run 2000 miles. But what shocks me the most is, I’m not even doing it for myself. My 20 year old self would’ve taken on this goal to see what she could’ve gotten out of it. Then probably quit when it was hard, demanding, etc. But now? I still get out there in the heat, humidity, crazy early hours, on tired, sore, broken down muscles, joints, tendons, you name it without a second thought. Quitting this has never been an option. I’m more disappointed I haven’t raised more donations. I’m more disappointed I haven’t made more of an impact. Running this year has taught me so much more than I could’ve ever imagined. Taught me more about myself, who I am and how I view life. I feel like a different person now. 

I hope somehow this journey has had an impact. I hope I somehow can raise more donations. It’s not the running. It’s not about me. It’s the wounded military men and women, the fallen soldiers, and most importantly the children they’ve left behind. They are why I keep running. 

It’s funny how one activity can change someone so much.  I’m so honored to be on this journey! I’m definitely not the same person I was before this journey began. 

Thank you all for being a part of this and the final 350 miles! It’s been quite a year! A time I’ll never forget and one that’s changed me forever! 

