IMG_3663

My mom and I

I cannot believe it has been five years since my car accident. An accident that left me flat on my back for 2 months, 4 more months of therapy that did nothing. It’s amazing to me how far I have come since that day.
After months of therapy, where my doctors threw their hand up at me, said I would NEVER run again, and wrote me off, I found yoga, my love of running again and a whole new life. If it hadn’t been for that car accident, I am not sure I would be where I am today. I am not sure I would have found yoga, the strength to run again and become a yoga teacher. My life is so wonderfully amazing now, I can actually be thankful for that car accident. Not for the pain, money loss, damage that occurred but in the months after, I found a life I always knew I should lead but just never took the leap to do it. I have always loved everything fitness and health related but never did anything about it jobwise. But that accident changed everything!
There are times I am out running and I think of that doctor who told me I wouldn’t run again. LOL! I often think of running to his office and letting him know he shouldn’t have given up on me.
Five years is a long time, but that day seems like yesterday. But with as much as I remember that day, I cant even remember the person I was then. I feel so much better physically and mentally and aside from meeting my husband, this is the happiest I have ever been. I love my job, I love my yoga students, I love running.

It was also five years ago, that August, I lost my mom. My best friend. One of my soul mates in this life. This was such a dark, sad time for me. There were days I could hardly breath the pain of her death hurt so badly. There are days now I wish she was here sharing in these 2000 miles. But every moment since 2010 led me to here. She’s watching over me cheering me on every run, race, and class I teach! I see a lot of her in my yoga students. Their love, enthusiasm, energy. I feel her in  my classes and on my runs and it helps ease the pain of missing her.

Sometimes blessings come through raindrops, healing comes through pain, a thousand sleepless nights to know He is near. The mercies in disguise!

So…..
Enjoy this day! Enjoy your life! Be thankful today! You never know what today is setting you up for in the future 🙂

